So Now That the Set Is Fixed, How Can We Reclaim the Apocalypse Dagger?

I think we can agree that the “Day of the Dungeon Master” is tons of fun! It’s cute, one of the rare really unique events in the game, and Module 15 will bring even more Acquisitions Incorporate to the Protector’s Enclave! We could all enjoy our life, but there’s always a catch, isn’t it? This time it’s the Apocalypse Dagger!

Do You Still Own Your Dagger?

I’m pretty sure it was mentioned either in an article or the comments already that there is a pretty significant logical flaw in the new Ravenloft Apocalypse Artifact set. To unlock the set bonus you need the Dagger from the event campaign, which you can claim only once. This is no issue for new players or characters today, but veterans might no longer actually own the item. The Dagger was pretty much insignificant until it got included in the Ravenloft Artifact sets. So players used it as so-called “feeder” in the old refining system. Refining Artifacts into other Artifacts was a highly popular, because most efficient, way of leveling them. That’s why many spend the useless item and now have no way of getting it back.

It’s pretty interesting anyway because a lot of other Artifacts that are bound can be reclaimed, but are not usable in the refining process (so that players cannot generate RPs out of thin air). This is obviously also what needs to be done with the Dagger. Otherwise players might have no shot at completing the set on specific characters. That can be annoying because the Apocalypse set is fairly strong. So far it didn’t matter because the set was bugged and the Day of the Dungeon Master not around. But now that both is no longer the case Cryptic should have tackled the Dagger issue as well.

A Logical Flaw That Should Be Addressed

I have to check, but one of my toons definitely can no longer complete Apocalypse. Luckily that one also doesn’t need it, but I definitely would be annoyed if that was the case. We’ll see how many other players are affected judged by the amount of angry posts on the Arcgames forum in the coming weeks. It is however a logical flaw that should be addressed rather sooner than later anyway. Plus Omin Dran might be angry if players show up for Module 15 without the Apocalypse Dagger, right?


Do you have toons that can no longer complete the set? Do you think it’s a flaw or that players should be punished for throwing away unique items? Share your thoughts and experience on our social channels, in the comments below, or visit the corresponding thread on our message board!

Neverwinter UN:Blogged is always looking for writers to contribute to the blog. If you are an active player and search for a way to spread your opinions, analysis, diaries or reviews to more than 75,000 regular visitors, then don’t hesitate and get in touch with us on our contact page or message board! We are currently especially looking for console and PVP content, but that’s not exclusive. There is no frequency requirement, you post how often you want.

j0Shi

j0Shi

j0Shi plays the Neverwinter MMORPG since the open BETA in 2013 and is a regular contributor to the blog and the whole UN:Project. Originally a Guardian Fighter, he has built up ALTs of all classes and plays on BIS/near-BIS level.

6 thoughts on “So Now That the Set Is Fixed, How Can We Reclaim the Apocalypse Dagger?

  • Avatar
    September 1, 2018 at 12:12 pm
    Permalink

    So is Apocalypse actually worthwhile for DPS now assuming one can’t afford to complete the Orcus set?

    Reply
    • Avatar
      September 1, 2018 at 6:37 pm
      Permalink

      Hi, Ardaingeal,

      It might depend on your class and whether you get your damage bonus from STR or something else (EG HR from DEX, SW from CON, CW from INT etc)

      But fully ranked up, just from the stats, you’ll get about:

      4.7% dps from Power,
      5.7% Crit chance
      4.4% Recharge
      14.0% Defence Ignored
      2.5% Deflection chance
      2.2% Life Steal chance
      +600 Companion Influence bonus, so as a diminishing return stat, that’s about +6.2%. I have no idea how much this affects the buffs from Bonding Procs, though.

      Then +2 STR and +2 CHA, so everyone would get +2% CAB damage from CHA, while GWF, GF and TR would also get +2% dps from STR.

      But I think the Set bonus, where critting an enemy increases the damage IT takes by 1% for 5 sec, Max 5 stacks, is interesting. If this is a debuff on the target, it *should* take +5% damage from all sources if your Crit chance is near 100% so you always have 5 stacks up on the target. But if it is badly worded, and it applies only to your personal dps, it might not be such a strong set bonus.

      For personal dps, something like the Soul Sight Crystal is probably still better for using in combat.

      But I’d love to see someone testing this with ACT against actual bosses as well as target dummies.

      🙂

      Reply
      • Avatar
        September 2, 2018 at 7:35 am
        Permalink

        Thanks for the detailed response 🙂 My TR is already using the Dagger as a secondary artifact anyway so to my thinking it made sense to just grab the other pieces with otherwise worthless campaign currency. Most are saying Orcus is still BIS which it probably is but the Shard is just a tad too expensive for me and who knows what the next mod is going to bring. And I’m sure Apocalypse can only be better than Lostmauth XD

        Reply
        • Avatar
          September 2, 2018 at 9:03 am
          Permalink

          No worries, I wanted to check out the details anyway, so figured I might as well type it out and post it here for you too.

          My TRs also like stacking STR and CHA.

          🙂

          Reply
  • Avatar
    September 1, 2018 at 12:33 pm
    Permalink

    My Halfling GF still has it in the Bank from last year. It might, possibly, be useful for my Halfling TR for PvP if not for the Companion Influence stat on it. I’d have to check to see if any others have claimed it in the past.

    But, as you say, if I had claimed it when the old Refining System was in place, it probably went the same way as Bruenor’s Helm, Globe of the Third Eye etc. At least the Banners from Siege of Neverwinter and PvP and the Bloodcrystal Ravenskulls etc can be re-purchased.

    It’s a typical Craptrick cock-up. It simply adds to their reputation for being idiots at best and crooked scammers at worst. To have a single, unique artifact, which is really not very good at all by itself (despite a month’s grind to get it), is one thing.

    But to create a decent Artifact Set with a decent set bonus with it two or three years LATER is simply rank, amateur stupidity.

    I suppose they could allow people to repeat the campaign during Day of the DM and claim it again, although it’s a bit late now. Also, the steps I have done in previous years are already done and cannot be repeated.

    So they’d have to put it in the Artifact Trader’s inventory, where we can exchange the Lostmauth pieces for other very old, very weak, very redundant and obsolete artifact sets.

    But then they’d need some way for the game to recognise that the character DID have it in inventory once at some point. Maybe an Achievement Flag or something. This should work, as there’s no point in claiming a BoP BtC artifact we already have, as they cannot be converted to RP anyway, so no possible exploit.

    As I recall, I upgraded my Dragonborn Legendary pack Heart of the Red Dragon to Legendary on one character. I could then claim it again, as the one claimed was Epic and the one equipped was Legendary and the game saw them as two distinct items. This was when it started appearing as unbound drops, but still could not be used as a feeder, much to the Great Dismay of people who bought them from the AH as a Feeder, as the ones that dropped did NOT say that you could not do this.

    See? idiots or scamming crooks. Always one or the other. I think the last Jubilee was the only thing they’ve ever done well.

    So now I had TWO Red Dragon Hearts, one Epic and One Legendary, BOTH bound to character, NEITHER could be sold or converted to RP and only ONE could be equipped.

    So that should work. As long as they can detect characters who did have the Apocalypse Dagger once, and not just let everyone in the world claim it and then shut the servers down to plug the “exploit” they created, instead of a solution.

    They could even charge a reasonable number of RP, if anyone thinks that the RP a rank 59 was worth as a feeder was an issue. I really don’t think it matters now.

    >:8o

    Reply
  • Avatar
    September 1, 2018 at 12:59 pm
    Permalink

    I’d be happy if they did the event twice a year and it actually RESET … so that my main who did it when it first came out could go and redo it so I could reclaim the dagger …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.